Life Decisions

careers3.jpg

I was never brainwashed to become a doctor as my career. I pushed myself and believed that this is what I have always wanted to do. As I got older, I realized how close I was to going to college. And from there, I needed to know what I wanted to do in life. There was so many conflicts in my desires. My minimum of job-matching would be: earning a living wage and being happy.

Since last year, I discovered my true passion for learning history. I always loved history since last year (thank you Mr. Kral), but I never imagined that it might have been something I wanted to be involved with in my future. I am currently in APUSH, and my test scores were not as good as I hoped last semester, but I really enjoyed the material I learned. I keep on reflecting on my other classes such as chemistry and I can’t seem to enjoy it as much as history. For instance, I do not do well on my chemistry tests and I do not really find it interesting. Does that mean I am not meant for the medical field? These questions fill my head every single day. In any career, you need a basis for everything. And if high school chemistry is difficult for me and not interesting, it might be a sign. I could be wrong and totally feel the exact opposite when I enter college, but I do not want to take the risk of wasting money and time. However, if I were to be involved with history, I wonder if there is any other occupation besides being a teacher. Working for the government sounds fun as well.

When I told my mom about my conflict, she believed that my characteristics were not really meant for the government. She knew how much I appreciated and loved history since I kept on connecting facts outside of school. I literally just spit out facts about an event from history for a good two minutes. It is that bad. Of course as any mom would do, she would talk to me about my future and told me that you have to find something that you can make enough money so that I would not worry about my life as I get older.

Long-term decisions could always change. Right now, I am still conflicted about my career and I try to imagine myself as those specific roles that I am interested in, but it is not the same. Hopefully before I declare my major in college, I will have a good solid idea of what I want to do in life.

Photo by http://www.qcc.cuny.edu/counseling/career.html

Leave a Reply

